What to Do After a Southern California Car Accident Collision
Southern California Auto Accident - In the state of California, if you are involved in a car accident, there are steps you must take to prevent being charged with a criminal offense. The first thing you should do is stop and assess the situation. Determine if there has been any injuries or deaths. In Southern California if you don't stop at the scene of an accident you can face criminal hit and run charges, even if you did not cause the accident. Even if there is only property damage involved with no one hurt, you must still stop. If you hit a parked car, and you can't locate the owner, you should leave a note with you with your name and address. The accident should be reported to the local police or the California Highway Patrol.
If you are involved in a Southern California car accident you must show your registration card, driver's license, and evidence of insurance to the other party in the accident. If the police show up, be prepared to show these things to the police. If there is no proof of insurance, you could face a citation and fine. Also, all car accidents must be reported to the DMV within 10 days if there is a death involved, or if there is damage over $750. A report of Traffic Accident Occurring in Southern California form must then distributed to insurance companies, police, and other administrative agencies as may be required by law. Here is what must be reported in the SR-1 form.
- Place and time of the accident
- The other driver's name, address, and date of birth
- The other driver's plate number and state
- Insurance company policy number
- Policy holder's name and address
- Vehicle owner's name and address
- Explanation of injuries or property damage
Don't hesitate before it's too late! Hire a Southern California Attorney Now!
When you are involved in a car accident there is the possibility that you may require a car accident attorney. If the accident is minor and routine the average person can educate themselves enough to make it through the claim system for property damage only claims. Where injuries are involved, lawyer help becomes a practical necessity as the adjuster just won't pay out fair value.
Here are the conditions in which you may need a car accident attorney.
- When the fault for a car accident is contested, and you don't have clear proof that you are in the right, and the case will go to court, you should not take the risk of trying to go it alone.
- How much out of pocket cost it takes to conclude a claim may be a turning point. If the cost is one to five thousand dollars, you may be able to handle it yourself. If the cost reaches ten thousand dollars or more, investing in an attorney might be a wise move.
- Another key point would be how bad you are injured in a car accident, and how long a recovery period is expected. A serious injury like broken bones or a herniated disk could affect you for a long time, and depending on the circumstances of the case, a large settlement could be involved. It is very logical that you would need a lawyer due to the complexity of the case, and how time consuming such cases normally are.
If your car accident case goes beyond the small claims court limit it would be a good idea to obtain the services of a Southern California attorney. Napolin knows all the court rules, steps and different lawsuit litigation legal levels your particular injury claim case needs. Contact today! (909) 3256032 - Southern California Auto Accident Lawyers.
Have you been involved in an auto accident injury on one of the highways or freeways of any of these local Southern California cities: Ontario, Diamond Bar, Garden Grove, Fullerton, Aliso Viejo, Ladera Ranch, Riverside, Upland, Santa Ana, Tustin, Laguna Hills, San Bernardino, Covina, Montclair, Chino, Yorba Linda, San Gabriel Valley, La Puente, Lake Forest, Rancho Cucamonga, Trabuco Canyon, Orange, Pomona, La Verne, La Mirada, Walnut, Laguna Niguel, Baldwin Park, Fontana, Rancho Santa Margarita, Tustin, Buena Park, Azusa, La Habra, Colton, Los Angeles County, Claremont, West Covina, San Dimas, Newport Beach, Orange, Chino Hills, Seal Beach, Brea, El Toro, Newport Coast, Foothill Ranch, Los Angeles, Rialto, Irvine, Mission Viejo, Huntington Beach, Costa Mesa, Laguna Beach, San Bernardino County, Riverside County, Corona Del Mar, Anaheim, East Irvine, Fountain Valley, Glendora, and the Inland Empire.
Contact Our Law Office Now for a Free No Obligation Legal Consultation today. Call Now! (909) 325-6032
Our No Fee Promise